Writing 101, Day Ten: Happy (Insert Special Occasion Here!)

Standard

I have always enjoyed eating. Pizza, pastas, burgers, chips, corn, green beans, ice cream, pie, honey buns, chalupas, I mean, the list goes on and on and on and on. Honestly, it’s quite ridiculous, and I’m astonished that I am not a 200 pound diabetic. Some of my favorite meals, and yes of course I have multiple favs, are actually related to the events they accompanied. Friday nights always saw the moment to enjoy fried catfish and mama’s spaghetti, while many Saturdays found pizza laid across the kitchen table.

Spaghetti has always been my schtick. No exaggeration but for roughly the first 4 years of my life I only wanted “sgetti” and nothing more. I would sometimes enjoy a delicious pb&j but it was all about the stringy pasta. I didn’t even need marinara or creamy sauce. My folks could just set out a large bowl full of the yummy goodness and I’d snack throughout the day when my tummy would make me aware of its presence. To this day pasta is still a fav. Well, my mature tastebuds claim it as love of mediterranean dishes with an emphasis on Italian pastas.

Pizza! Who does not like a good slice every now and then? In my family, we love the taste of a good pizza. Family night was often, if not always, complimented by pizza. It never mattered if it was take-out or store-bought. Pizza and chips, with a board game or movie, was always a weekend treat. A reward of sorts for the long week. Rather we as a family went out to the “cheap theater” and ate at a local pizza parlor or if we obtained a rental from the late-Blockbuster and purchased a pizza-pie from the grocery, we enjoyed one another’s company as we indulged in the dough and tomato sauce dish. Sometimes we would play board games like Scrabble and Monopoly as we ate.

All-in-all they are some of the fondest memories I hardly even visit any longer. They were so inspiring to me that I desire to continue such traditions if I ever become a father.

Man oh man, another fav meal of mine is something my adult body and conscious cannot rightfully gratify: 2 baja chalupas with a honey bun and sprite soda. Throughout my junior high school year I ate this everyday as my afternoon snack. Fairly certain it has weighed against me but it was so delicious I would do it over again. As an aging mortal though, I can no longer make this a part of my daily routine without possible hazardrous consequences. It is something I have recently begun to no longer miss or crave. Apparently, my health conscious is shouting for attention.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

