Nu-Merika: A Taste of a Short Story

Standard

“I will build a great wall – and nobody builds walls better than me, believe me – and I’ll build them very inexpensively. I will build a great, great wall on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall. Mark my words.”

I am not sure if anyone had truly believed him, I know I hadn’t. I was a young child when I had heard the presidential hopeful utter those words. Though I was young I was appalled, just like hundreds of thousands of others. But somehow he had won, barely, but won nonetheless. And he had built that wall, just as promised. Each and every one of those bricks was fused with the blood of Mexican slaves, and not a penny of its cost taken from the American treasury. I’m still not sure how he had managed that.

Once the Rio Barrier was completed, that crazed man turned his sights to the north, and within two more years the Great White Shield was completed. The Superpower known as the United States was cut off from its southern and northern neighbor by massive fortifications equipped with heavy guns, anti-aircraft cannons, and armed troopers.

Other than the walls, the man did nothing else, and people were relieved that his term would end. But surprising some, the fool seized a second term. That was too much for many to bear; some of my family immediately left the country. I remember how my aunt had cried and begged my dad to follow. She sobbed as he called her a manic paranoid mess. My dad said that anyone leaving had been acting overly dramatic. If he had felt that same sense of urgency and fear like my aunt though, maybe today he would be alive.

Early in that second term, the crazed man turned interests inwardly, and began building walls between states, redefining them as Zone Districts. Yellow school buses began showing up in neighborhoods, and armed troopers forced people from their homes unto them. Hours, sometimes days later, the busses would arrive in varied ZD Communities, and all the people were forced out. Quickly people realized that these new ZD Communities were segregated along social, racial, and economic differences.

The whole time this man enforced his radically, revolting ideologies unto the nation, the rest of the world watched. They refused to help, many believing the inevitable should be allowed to occur. Me and my friends are restless though, we are no longer afraid of the consequences of wanting a new regime. We will die bringing about the change needed.

Leave a Reply

